Alumni Portrait

Ira Stanic-Maruna, VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH

[Translate to English:] Ira Stanic Maruna

© VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH

Ira Stanic-Maruna, MSc is a graduate of the first class of the MSc Environmental Technology & International Affairs (ETIA). Already during her studies, she started to work at VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH, where she still works in the field of environmental and project management. In the Alumni Portrait, she tells us why she owes her current job directly to the MSc ETIA.


What career stages have you completed since graduating from the MSc Environmental Technology & International Affairs?

Shortly before graduating from the ETIA programme, in June 2009, I started working for VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH (formerly Verbund Umwelttechnik GmbH), a subsidiary of VERBUND, Austria’s leading electricity company. Since then, I have been working at VUM as an environmental and project manager. My main tasks have included the coordination of environmental impact assessment procedures for large infrastructure projects, above all, transmission lines, hydropower plants and wind farms, as well as drafting climate and energy reports.

When you look back on your studies: What do you still benefit most from today? How did completing the MSc ETIA contribute to the realization of your career goals? 

The ETIA program provides the perfect foundation for my work, especially the second year at the TU Vienna, but also lectures on environmental law and economics during the first year at the Diplomatic Academy. The interdisciplinary curriculum includes numerous important subjects related to climate, environment and energy, covered in sufficient depth. When coordinating EIAs and approval procedures for infrastructure projects you don’t need to have profound expert knowledge for every environmentally relevant topic, but it is of great benefit to know enough about as many environmental and legal aspects that need to be covered as possible. During my work at VUM, I have encountered almost all topics studied during the ETIA-programme in one form or the other. Also, I have profited a lot from practicing scientific and argumentative writing during the first ETIA-year at the DA for writing reports and statements.

In fact, I owe my job directly to the ETIA programme. In the spring of 2009, just at the right time, VUM had a job opening and its CEO was lecturer at the ETIA programme. He noticed my work during class and invited me to a job interview.

What particularly positive memories do you associate with your postgraduate studies and with the CEC? 

Studying at the DA and the TU Vienna is among the most exciting times of my life. During the two years I learned so much, I had the best lecturers and I was surrounded by interesting people of all formations from all over the world. The sense of community that we had during our studies was something special. I also very much enjoyed the study trips across Europe and field trips to large infrastructure facilities like the Viennese sewage treatment and the waste incineration plant. 

Suppose you could repeat one day in your life – what would it be?

There is no one day that I could pick out. There are so many days with my family that I would gladly relive. Among the days that I remember particularly well during my work for VUM are those when I stood on top of a wind turbine or when I got the opportunity to take part in a helicopter exploration flight over the Tauern mountain range or when we had our VUM team meeting high up at the Kölnbrein dam.

From today's perspective, what advice would you give to your 25-year-old self?

When I was just about to turn 25, I worked as a translator for a consulting company and was thinking about applying for the Diploma Programme of the DA, which would mean lots and lots of studying for its difficult entrance exam. I chose to do it and I never regretted it; it was the best decision as regards my career. However, I would advise my 19-year old self to reconsider the decision to enrol in translation studies, even though this education brought with it many positive aspects and acquired competencies.

What book would you definitely recommend to other alumni?

Every day at work I read and write specialist texts, so I strike a balance at home by rather reading fiction. However, a book changed my life 10 years ago: Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer.

Alumni Portrait

Ira Stanic-Maruna, VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH

Ira Stanic Maruna

© VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH

Mag. Ira Stanic-Maruna, MSc ist Absolventin des ersten Durchgangs des MSc Environmental Technology & International Affairs (ETIA). Bereits während des Studiums begann sie bei der VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH zu arbeiten, wo sie heute noch im Bereich Umwelt- und Projektmanagement tätig ist. Im Alumni Portrait erzählt sie unter anderem, wieso sie ihren aktuellen Job direkt dem MSc ETIA zu verdanken hat. 


Welche beruflichen Stationen haben Sie seit Abschluss des MSc Environmental Technology & International Affairs absolviert?

Bereits kurz vor Abschluss des ETIA-Programms habe ich angefangen bei VUM Verfahren Umwelt Management GmbH (damals Verbund Umwelttechnik GmbH), einer Tochter von VERBUND, Österreichs führendem Stromunternehmen, zu arbeiten. Seit damals, also seit Juni 2009, bin ich bei der VUM im Bereich Umwelt- und Projektmanagement tätig. Mein Hauptaufgabengebiet sind Genehmigungsverfahren für große Investitionsprojekte, allen voran Übertragungsleitungen, Wasserkraft- und Windkraftanlage sowie energiewirtschaftliche Studien.

Wenn Sie auf Ihr Studium zurückblicken: Wovon profitieren Sie heute noch am meisten? Wie hat die Absolvierung des MSc ETIA zur Verwirklichung Ihrer Karriereziele beigetragen? 

Für mein Aufgabengebiet bietet das ETIA-Studium eine hervorragende Basis, dabei vor allem das zweite Jahr an der TU Wien aber auch Umweltrecht und -ökonomie im ersten Jahr an der Diplomatischen Akademie. Die Studienfächer behandeln eine Vielzahl wichtiger Zweige innerhalb der Domäne Klima/Umwelt/Energie in ausreichender Tiefe. Bei der Koordination von Genehmigungsverfahren für Infrastrukturprojekte benötigt man kein fundiertes Fachwissen zu jedem einzelnen umweltrelevanten Thema, jedoch ist es unabdingbar, bei den vielen Aspekten des Umwelt- und Klimaschutzes sowie der Energiewirtschaft ein ausreichendes Basiswissen zu haben. Fast alle während des ETIA-Studiums behandelten Themen sind mir während meiner Tätigkeit untergekommen. Auch von der Übung wissenschaftlichen Schreibens und Argumentierens während des ersten ETIA Jahres an der DA profitierte ich beim Verfassen von Berichten und Stellungnahmen immens.

Meinen Job bei der VUM habe ich direkt dem ETIA-Studium zu verdanken. Gerade zum richtigen Zeitpunkt im Frühling 2009 suchte die VUM nach Verstärkung und der Geschäftsführer war Vortragender beim ETIA-Studiengang. Er ist auf mich aufmerksam geworden und lud mich zum Vorstellungsgespräch ein.

Welche besonders positiven Erinnerungen verbinden Sie mit Ihrer Studienzeit und dem CEC? 

Die Studienzeit an der DA und an der TU Wien waren mitunter die spannendste Zeit meines Lebens. Ich habe enorm viel in den zwei Jahren gelernt, hatte die besten Vortragenden und war umgeben von interessanten Persönlichkeiten unterschiedlichster Ausbildungen aus aller Welt. Besonders toll war das Gemeinschaftsgefühl während des Studiums und die Studienreisen in viele Länder Europas sowie Besuche großer Infrastrukturanlagen wie der Wiener Klär- und Müllverbrennungsanlage.

Angenommen Sie könnten einen Tag in Ihrem Leben wiederholen – welcher wäre das?

Ich könnte niemals nur einen Tag aussuchen. Abgesehen von den viel zu schnell vergehenden Tagen mit meiner Familie, erinnere ich mich besonders gut an einschneidende Erlebnisse während meiner Tätigkeit bei der VUM, wie z.B. als ich an der Spitze einer Windenergieanlage stand oder bei einem Hubschrauber-Erkundungsflug über die Tauern mit dabei sein durfte, oder auch unser Team-Meeting hoch oben auf der Kölnbreinsperre.

Was würden Sie Ihrem 25-jährigen Ich aus heutiger Sicht raten?

Mit knapp 25 Jahren arbeitete ich als Übersetzerin für ein Consulting-Unternehmen und überlegte, ob ich mich trauen soll, die mit hohem Lernaufwand verbundene Aufnahmeprüfung für den Diplomlehrgang an der DA zu machen. Ich entschloss mich dafür und habe diese Entscheidung nie bereut, es war die beste hinsichtlich meiner Berufslaufbahn. Ich würde jedoch meinem 19-jährigen Ich raten, nochmals die Entscheidung zu überdenken, Übersetzungswissenschaften zu studieren, auch wenn dieses Studium enorm viele positive Aspekte und erworbene Kompetenzen mit sich brachte.

Welches Buch würden Sie anderen Alumni unbedingt empfehlen?

Da ich in meiner Arbeit täglich Fachtexte lese oder verfasse, finde ich in der Freizeit eher Ausgleich in Belletristik. Ein Buch hat aber mein Leben vor 10 Jahren verändert: Eating Animals von Jonathan Safran Foer.